Have your say on the Shire Offices Upgrade

During February and March Yarra Ranges Council will have ‘Pop-up Community Engagement Sessions’ at various locations throughout the Shire. These pop-ups will allow residents to talk to the Council Community Engagement Team about upgrades to Shire offices and Civic Centre.

Both Cr Tim Heenan and Mayor Noel Cliff are encouraging residents to visit a pop-up and have their views heard, or just find out more about the developments.

“Please come along to one of the sessions to be heard – I’m keen to hear your ideas on how you might use the new public space, and you can also have a look at what’s being planned for the office redevelopment overall.” Cr Noel Cliff said.

A bit of history
Early in 2016 four figures were presented to Council for the upgrade of Shire Offices, these ranged between $6.4 million to $28 million.
Existing Building Rectification – $6.4 million
Refurbishment (Limited) – $18 million
Refurbishment and Redevelopment (Partial) – $22.5 million
Redevelopment (Complete) – $28 million

At the April 26 Yarra Ranges Council meeting, Councillors decided on the complete redevelopment for $28 million. This would include a complete refurbishment and multilevel extension of the existing main Anderson Street building which allows all Shire employees to work from one location and remove adjoining portables. It would also see the redevelopment of a Civic Centre for community functions.

During the Council meeting, Tim Heenan (prior to the election where he became Cr), raised concerns about the lack of engagement with the community before making the decision to spend $28 million, and did not see the large spend necessary. The same view has been held by a lot of Yarra Ranges Council residents.

Have your say
The Council’s Community Engagement Team will be in Mt Evelyn twice during their pop-up sessions. The first on Wednesday February 15 at Mt Evelyn Library, Wray Cres from 10am to 2pm, and the second on Thursday 2 March at Mt Evelyn IGA from 3pm to 7pm.

If you are unable to make it to either of the Mt Evelyn sessions, you can visit the Community Engagement Team at one of their other locations listed below.

A survey is also on the Council’s website at http://www.yarraranges.vic.gov.au/Lists/Current-consultation/Civic-Centre-Redevelopment, community feedback will close on Friday March 17.

Thursday 2 February, 10am-4pm – Lilydale Marketplace
Friday 3 February, 10am to 4pm – Chirnside Park Shopping Centre
Saturday 4 February – Kallista Market
Saturday 4 February, 10am to 2pm – Yarra Junction shopping precinct
Thursday 9 February, 3pm to 7pm – Healesville shopping precinct (Coles)
Saturday 11 February, 10am to 2pm – Mooroolbark shopping precinct
Sunday 12 February – Big Dreams Market Belgrave
Wednesday 15 February, 10am to 2pm – Mt Evelyn Library
Thursday 16 February, 2pm to 6pm – Lilydale shopping precinct (Market Place)
Saturday 18 February – Montrose Craft Market
Wednesday 22 February, 3pm to 6pm – Kilsyth Shopping Centre
Thursday 23 February, 10am to 2pm – Yarra Glen Reading Room
Friday 24 February – Warburton Market (new at night)
Saturday 25 February, 10am to 2pm – Chirnside Park Shopping Centre
Wednesday 1 March, 10am to 2pm – Healesville Library / Community Link
Thursday 2 March, 3pm to 7pm – Mt Evelyn shopping precinct (IGA)
Saturday 4 March, 10am to 2pm – Seville shopping precinct
Thursday 9 March, 11am to 4pm – Kilsyth Shopping Precinct
Thursday 9 March, 3pm to 7pm – Monbulk  shopping precinct (Safeway)
Saturday 11 March – Grassroots Market Upwey

Shire office redevelopment views
Shire office redevelopment views

*Images from the Yarra Ranges Council, to see more redevelopment concept images and plans visit: http://www.yarraranges.vic.gov.au/Lists/Capital-works-major-projects/Civic-Centre-redevelopment

Leave a Reply